Gwinnett County Public Schools announces six Teacher of the Year finalists

Gwinnett County Public Schools announced Monday that it has whittled the list of candidates for this year’s Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year down to six finalists. The group includes two educators each from the elementary, middle and high school levels who were chosen from a group of 25 semifinalists.

The finalists include: Lilburn Elementary School’s Lena Alonso; Sugar Hill Elementary School’s Katie Blum; Coleman Middle School’s Kelley Donovan; Five Forks Middle School’s Julianne Purnell; Paul Duke STEM High School’s Philip Peavy; and South Gwinnett High School’s Danielle Swaby.